The pfSense Store

Author Topic: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?  (Read 76663 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8854
  • Karma: +1014/-302
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #75 on: August 24, 2014, 02:55:30 am »
Cheers!  ;)

But keep in mind that if you do later a firmware upgrade, it's going to return to factory defaults

Quality gear.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline robi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 949
  • Karma: +72/-2
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #76 on: August 24, 2014, 03:31:14 am »
Life is always full of compromises. For that price, a 32GBps switch with SFP ports and all gigabit copper ports, it's worth the compromise.

I wouldn't say they are of bad quality - got a pair of TL-SG2216s running for almost 4 months now without any single issue. And I must say, software bugs are present in much more expensive gear too - just remember the openssl heartbleed vulnerability... Many like Juniper or Cisco simply took it for free and incorporated it as it way in gear worthing 10s of 1000s of dollars...

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8854
  • Karma: +1014/-302
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #77 on: August 24, 2014, 04:07:08 am »
I wouldn't call resetting to factory defaults on every firmware upgrade a bug.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11836
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #78 on: August 24, 2014, 05:35:11 am »
A feature then?  ;)

Steve

Offline Escorpiom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #79 on: August 25, 2014, 12:32:06 am »
Thanks for the insights, much appreciated.
I was wondering, what is the behavior of the TP Link switch with both tagged and untagged traffic?

Lets say, we create two vlans 10 and 20.
Select vlan 10 and configure port 5 untagged and 16 tagged so it behavious as a trunk.
On the same port, traffic arrives tagged with vlan 20.
What will happen?

- packet is dropped because it is tagged and port is set for untagged
- packet is accepted but the tag is stripped and it gets the vlan 10 tag
- packet is accepted and will be forwarded to the port with vlan 20 tag

In essence, is it possible to configure the port for both tagged and untagged packets by selecting the vlan?

Related to this is the second question.
Let's say that apart from the pfsense box on port 16, I would like a file server on port 15.
Logically the clients have to have access to both Internet and file server.
Is it correct that we can configure "two trunk ports" by tagging port 16 and 15 for the corresponding vlan?

Cheers.
 
 

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8854
  • Karma: +1014/-302
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #80 on: August 25, 2014, 01:27:08 am »
In both cases the frame should be dropped because the port is not configured to service VLAN 20, tagged or untagged.

There are typically three different configurations for a switchport with regard to VLANs:

1  untagged, or access port - traffic arriving on the port is placed on the configured VLAN.  Traffic for the VLAN is sent out the port with the tag stripped (untagged).  If the switch does anything with received tagged traffic it should drop it.  Else it should strip the tag and place it on the access VLAN.

2. tagged, or trunk port - traffic arriving on the port should be tagged with a configured VLAN else dropped.  It's possible to configure a port to accept traffic for any VLAN.  Traffic for a configured VLAN on the port is sent out with the VLAN tag intact (tagged).  Traffic received for an unconfigured VLAN should be dropped.

3. hybrid, or general, or dual-mode port.  Behaves like a tagged/trunk port except a Primary VLAN (PVID) is configured.  Untagged traffic received by the port is placed on the primary VLAN.  Tagged traffic for configured tagged VLANs is processed like a trunk port.  Traffic for configured VLANs is sent out the port with the VLAN ID intact (tagged) except for traffic on the Primary VLAN.  The switch strips the VLAN tag for the PVID before transmitting and sends it untagged.

In my limited experience, you will be happier in the long run as your network grows if you stick with method 1 or 2, and should only resort to method 3 if absolutely necessary.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 06:59:35 pm by Derelict »
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline Escorpiom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #81 on: August 25, 2014, 05:50:31 pm »
Thanks for the explanation.
The PVID stands for Primary Vlan ID or Port Vlan ID?
It appears TP-Link has their own definitions.

Cheers.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8854
  • Karma: +1014/-302
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #82 on: August 25, 2014, 06:58:39 pm »
Thanks for the explanation.
The PVID stands for Primary Vlan ID or Port Vlan ID?

Primary VLAN ID.

Quote
It appears TP-Link has their own definitions.

Cheers.

Why am I not surprised.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline Escorpiom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #83 on: September 12, 2014, 02:11:44 pm »
Sorry but I should rectify something.
Elsewhere on this board I posted about my experience with TP-Link switches and the Gb port changing to 100Mbit sometimes.
It appears now that the switch is not at fault, but the Ubuntu drivers for my server's Marvell nic.

A few weeks ago there was a kernel update for Ubuntu 14.04.1 and since then the connection to the switch has been stable at Gb speeds.
I hate it when a product gets a bad rap due to issues that are unrelated. So here's the correction.

Cheers.   

Offline robi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 949
  • Karma: +72/-2
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #84 on: October 02, 2014, 02:45:05 pm »
TP-Link Smart switches got a firmware update recently, v1.0.4 Build 20140811 Rel.50404(s). Changes:
Quote
   1. Improved stability of the system;
   2. Optimized management of Memory usage."
Updating from v1.0.3 to v1.0.4 didn't require a settings restore anymore. Tested on two TL-SG2216 boxes.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2014, 02:51:25 pm by robi »

Offline Escorpiom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #85 on: October 02, 2014, 08:13:05 pm »
TL-SL2428 has no updated firmware. December 2013 is the last release.
Perhaps a newer version will be released later.

I was wondering, does this switch support IPv6?
As it is a level 2 switch, it should be of no importance to the switch.
But what about the switch IP address itself? I couldn't find anything in the manual and data sheet.

Cheers.

Offline hamelg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #86 on: November 16, 2014, 01:23:53 pm »
I agree, but in that case, it's unfair to be disappointed that there's no CLI or webif available for it.
You can use the config software with any JRE enabled system (Pure Java). See info at http://pastebin.com/DwB4uaPR
Hi,
I have checked your howto, It works, but ...
On linux, the utility doesn't discover any switch.
I've done some network captures and strace and I found out why.
On linux, to receive broadcast udp packet, the application must bind INADDR_ANY, the TP utility bind the nic IP addr.
To allow discovery works, you must use a nat rule :
iptables -t nat -D PREROUTING -p udp -d 255.255.255.255 --dport 29809 -j DNAT --to <@IP your host>:29809
It would be nice if you add this information in your howto ...

Offline ozett

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #87 on: December 15, 2014, 02:51:10 pm »
hey derelic, i have a question which arises from the approach to configure an VLAN on the  tp-link easy smart switch 1016de
you wrote here :
...
2. tagged, or trunk port - traffic arriving on the port should be tagged with a configured VLAN else dropped.  It's possible to configure a port to accept traffic for any VLAN.  Traffic for a configured VLAN on the port is sent out with the VLAN tag intact (tagged).  Traffic received for an unconfigured VLAN should be dropped.

and the tp-link has the option to set a pvid. what is this for?
i can not set a pvid for unexisiting vlans.
i must chose a port as tagged or untagged to create a vlan.
after that i can set a pvid to that port.
and what for?

i assume now, that as i additionaly to the creation of the vlan change the pvid on an port to the same vlan-number on this port, that all (unconfigured?) traffic (or for unconfigured vlans?) is _NOT_ dropped, but instead pushed into that vlan of  the pvid-number.

The default pvid number on all ports is 1, which is the undeletable default-vlan for all ports..

my assumtion seems to make sense to me, but i am a real beginner with that vlan..
every help appreciated...(besides this thread is a great pleasure in explaining this new easy-smart switches. ...)

thanks for attention,
ozett
« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 02:58:44 pm by ozett »

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8854
  • Karma: +1014/-302
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #88 on: December 15, 2014, 03:30:19 pm »
I would want to tell the switch to drop untagged traffic on my tagged ports.  It doesn't look like that's possible with that gear.

That manual page you posted tells you exactly what the PVID is.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11836
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: TP-LINK Smart Switches anyone?
« Reply #89 on: December 15, 2014, 04:21:46 pm »
You could presumably set an unused PVID on the 'trunk' port to effectively drop untagged packets?
Edit: Except that you can't use a PVID for a VLAN that doesn't exist.

I've stumbled my way through VLANs on several occasions but I've always come away with the feeling that either the setup is massively more complex than in needs to be or I'm just scratching the surface. I have a feeling it's the latter.  ;)

Steve
« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 04:32:14 pm by stephenw10 »