Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: Wireless router?  (Read 4884 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline azith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Wireless router?
« on: March 15, 2008, 11:20:56 am »
Anyone that knows if it works doing a wireless router by using a wireless Pci-card in Pfsense?

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 11:27:00 am »
Yes, you can add a wireless nic and either use it as accesspoint mode, infrastructure or adhoc mode. What you want is accesspoint mode and maybe just bridge that one to the lan interface though you also can have a seperate subnet on it. Depends on what you want to do with it.

Only make sure the wlan-nic is supported by freebsd. I would simply go with an atheros chipset based card. Always worked fine for me.

Offline azith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2008, 04:41:35 pm »
so if i put in a wireless pcicard and just do as configuration like 2 networkcard it will work like a wireless router, or is it mutch more complicated than that. i would like a guide if anyone have time whit that:D
Ps: i dont now much about pfsense. 

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2008, 06:36:14 pm »
Yes, it's that simple  ;D

Wireless nics will have additional settings at the interface screen like encryption, ssid, channelsetting, ...

Offline azith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2008, 11:23:15 am »
So i can buy any wireless card ether if it have accsespoint or don't, i cant find a wireless card with accsespoin, is there a setting you can do i pfsens so that you can make it work?

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2008, 11:44:49 am »
Those are pfSense settings (accesspoint, infrastructure, adhoc). I would recommend buying an atheros based card. Basically check out http://madwifi.org/wiki/Compatibility for atherosbased cards that should work.

Offline azith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2008, 02:07:12 pm »
Where do i change settings for accsespoint?

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2008, 02:19:33 pm »
at interfaces>optx (with optx being the interfacename of your wlan interface, you can rename it to whatever you want) in the webgui.

Offline azith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2008, 02:59:11 pm »
so if i buy this
http://www.dustinhome.se/pd_5010050914.aspx
it will work doing a router?

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2008, 03:05:28 pm »
I can't open that link. It times out for me.

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5063
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2008, 04:07:21 pm »
Take a look at the "Hardware Compatibility List" http://www.freebsd.org/releases/6.2R/hardware-i386.html
Cards with an atheros based chipset are good.

Personally i wouldnt use this card after reading its datasheet:

RF Pwr (EIRP) in dBm
15 dBm @ 54Mbps (802.11g)
19 dBm @ 11Mbps (802.11b)

Recieve Sensitivity
-70 dBm @ 54Mbps (802.11g)
-85 dBm @ 11Mbps (802.11b)

Others like the WLM54G-30dBm have slightly better stats ;)
http://www.compex.com.sg/home/Datasheet/WLM54G-30_rev1.0.pdf

OUTPUT POWER
802.11g
6-24Mbps   30dBm
36Mbps      28dBm
48Mbps      27dBm
54Mbps      25dBm
802.11b
1-11Mbps   30dBm
802.11b -92 dBm @ 1Mbps, -87 dBm @ 11Mbps
802.11g -90 dBm @ 6Mbps, -70 dBm @ 54Mbps
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline Juan Lobos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Wireless router?
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2008, 03:32:44 pm »
i use a D-Link card , and it works perfectly, this card have an atheros chipset ... i just have a litle problem with
i try to enter to the webconfig when im connected via Athros interface, bridge with LAN and with my english  ;D, but this hardware
works in pfSense ... like any atheros chipset nic... i use D-Link DWL-G520

Saludos