pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2  (Read 14275 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #30 on: January 17, 2015, 06:31:26 pm »
Kevev - Since you had to fix the scripts, do the update instructions change at all?  Want to make sure I have those saved once the next update rolls out.

Good catch on the upgrade instructions. I updated them. They should be correct now.

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.1
« Reply #31 on: January 17, 2015, 06:32:33 pm »
I will see what I can do on mumble. It requires compiling which may be a no go here. Unless someone can fine me a ports or binary install.


I can test out to see if it installs and that portion of it, I won't be able to test out is use unfortunately...

How about one for mumble (teamspeak alternative)? Might be a popular option for those that want more users but on the same type of VoIP thing?

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #32 on: January 18, 2015, 11:08:18 am »
kevev: original instructions:

3.)  `chmod +x /root/pfsense-teamspeak-install.sh`
 

to

3.)  `chmod +x /root/pfsense-teamspeak-install.sh`
or
3.)  `chmod +x /root/pfsense-teamspeak-install_amd64.sh`

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #33 on: January 18, 2015, 03:57:24 pm »
setup, administered and running, machine is ow online with TS3... sweet... now to get snort to not ban everyone

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #34 on: January 18, 2015, 09:32:38 pm »
Done. Good luck with snort. Very powerful product.

kevev: original instructions:

3.)  `chmod +x /root/pfsense-teamspeak-install.sh`
 

to

3.)  `chmod +x /root/pfsense-teamspeak-install.sh`
or
3.)  `chmod +x /root/pfsense-teamspeak-install_amd64.sh`

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #35 on: January 26, 2015, 10:26:42 am »
Done. Good luck with snort. Very powerful product.


How about a set of directions for changing hardware or machines, or even a fresh install upgrade?  Some way to carry over our install and current settings? I'm guessing it goes like the upgrade instructions for the first part of it.

Thanks.

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #36 on: January 26, 2015, 11:28:00 am »
I am guessing you only need to bring over the sqlite* DB file. As this is outside of the scope of this thread maybe try the teamspeak website.

Done. Good luck with snort. Very powerful product.


How about a set of directions for changing hardware or machines, or even a fresh install upgrade?  Some way to carry over our install and current settings? I'm guessing it goes like the upgrade instructions for the first part of it.

Thanks.

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #37 on: January 26, 2015, 07:48:39 pm »
Will updating to 2.2 break the TS server at all?
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #38 on: January 26, 2015, 07:51:45 pm »
Try it and let us know. ::)

Will updating to 2.2 break the TS server at all?

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #39 on: January 27, 2015, 08:21:20 am »
Will updating to 2.2 break the TS server at all?

Nope works fine.

To move your server to a new machine or if you wish to reformat/reinstall a fresh copy of pfsense:

Do the backup part as Kevev as stated in post 2 for an upgrade (steps 1 through 4), then copy the backup to another computer/location.  From this backup all you technically need is ts3server.sqlitedb file.  Follow the instructions posted for the install from post 1, on reboot (@ step 8.) do the following:

1. Verify the server is running, connect to it should ask you for the key as in original step 8, don't bother we don't need this.

2. Shutdown the teamspeak server:

   a.) `/usr/local/etc/rc.d/teamspeak3-server.sh forcestop`

3. Copy the original ts3server.sqlitedb file from your backup and override the new one to:

         /usr/local/lib/teamspeak3-server_freebsd-x86

     or

         /usr/local/lib/teamspeak3-server_freebsd-amd64

4. Optional: Copy your log folder also and override the new one (I like to keep logs)

5. Start the teamspeak server and verify everything works:

   a.) `/usr/local/etc/rc.d/teamspeak3-server.sh start`

6. If you wish to, restart the router and verify the teamspeak server starts as expected.

***thanks to kevev for making this super easy for us, most of these instructions are just a copy of his.

kevev, you can add this to your second post if you want so people don't have to hunt for it.

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #40 on: January 27, 2015, 08:48:35 am »
Tong: I linked your post to 2nd post.

Also, I found out that Mumble server(Murmur 1.2.3) is available as a binary install for pfsense 2.1.x . I have some install instructions but there are lots of steps. I will try to make an install script like I did here. Also I haven't checked if Murmur 1.2.8(latest rease) is available for the new pfSense 2.2 . Hoping it is and also compatible with pfSense 2.1.x .

Question: Anyone interested in a freedns install script?(freedns.afraid.org) I have seen lots of people asking for a solution for this free dynamic dns service. I use it so people can connect to my TS server via URL instead of always changing IP.

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #41 on: January 27, 2015, 09:03:02 am »
Tong: I linked your post to 2nd post.

Also, I found out that Mumble server(Murmur 1.2.3) is available as a binary install for pfsense 2.1.x . I have some install instructions but there are lots of steps. I will try to make an install script like I did here. Also I haven't checked if Murmur 1.2.8(latest rease) is available for the new pfSense 2.2 . Hoping it is and also compatible with pfSense 2.1.x .

Question: Anyone interested in a freedns install script?(freedns.afraid.org) I have seen lots of people asking for a solution for this free dynamic dns service. I use it so people can connect to my TS server via URL instead of always changing IP.

I though that that could be done already in dynamic dns clients?  I'm using an old dyndns account I've had for over a decade to do the resolving

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #42 on: January 27, 2015, 10:54:41 am »
That is true. Just offering another option that pfsense does not support.

Offline iced98lx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Home User
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #43 on: March 04, 2015, 08:29:39 am »
Does this run TS in a jail? I know running TS on my firewall will obviously provide one more possible place to compromise the system but if it's in a jail and not running as root I'd be willing to give it a shot.

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #44 on: March 04, 2015, 08:38:36 am »
Does this run TS in a jail? I know running TS on my firewall will obviously provide one more possible place to compromise the system but if it's in a jail and not running as root I'd be willing to give it a shot.

No jail. They are easy to set up though.